Scrumptious Carrot Cake

I wanted to have a good old alliteration title but I couldn’t think of any words with a C that meant Yummy…!

Anyway, I have decided to blog one of my favourite cakes, one of the classics, Carrot cake.  I love a good old classic carrot cake, it reminds me of winter because of the spices inside. This recipe is so simple and would be great for beginners.  I have used the Hummingbird Bakery recipe however I have altered some quantities as I find them way to sweet, alter as you wish.If you want to know how to bake up a good storm, just like this one then just keep on reading!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Yes, I crumbled cake on top of cake…..

Ingredients: Should be at room temp

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
My Ingredients

300g of Soft Light Brown Sugar, I used 170g

3 medium eggs

300ml sunflower or vegetable oil, I used 200ml

300g Plain Flour

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp ground cinnamon and extra to decorate if wanted

1/2 tsp ground ginger, I used 1 tsp

1/4 tsp of vanilla extract, I used 1tsp

300g carrots grated


            The first thing you are going to do, is pick a tin of your choice, I opted for a square one and I greased this with some butter and then lightly dusted with flour. Usually, a recipe would say to preheat the oven about now but I never do this as I take so long to measure my ingredients and get on with it! If you’re speedy, go ahead and preheat the oven to 170 degrees celsius. 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
READY?

Combine, sugar, eggs and oil in a bowl with a wooden spoon if you’re old school like me or if you’re in a rush or don’t have the energy, use  freestanding mixer or electric whisk. Incorporate all the ingredients and beat well, it may look a little split because of the oil, but don’t worry! Slowly add the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, ginger, cinnamon, and vanilla extract and continue to beat. If you’re a slow ‘un like me, now would be  the time to preheat your oven!

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
A ginger cinnamon eggy mess

Stir in the grated carrots and make sure they are evenly distributed, at this point you can also add in any extras, I didn’t because I wanted it to be very classic. Pour the mixture into the cake tin and place in the oven for around 30-45 minutes. After, leave to cool and come back for the frosting.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
YUM!!

Whilst the cake is baking, I usually wash everything up ready to frost when the cake is cool. You can also prepare the frosting if you like. 


 

Frosting Ingredients:

50g Butter

125g Cream Cheese

Icing Sugar, I did this by eye but the recipe says about 300g


 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

VOILA, The end result is amazing, it is so worth the wait and the amount of people who say its yummy is unbelievable, have fun baking and send me photos @loadingadventur on twitter and @isla.ng on Instagram. I would love to see your take on this and see what you put on top!

blog sign

2 thoughts on “Scrumptious Carrot Cake

Leave a Reply

